Town’s Wal-Mart Foes Press

Posted: July 25, 2005 in Politics

 

Town’s Wal-Mart Foes

Press Like-Minded

To Run for Office

This just in, from the Associated Press; the following thoughts are prompted while reading the article printed in this morning’s (July 25, 2005) edition of the Kitsap Sun.

I am reminded of the question, “Why would anyone want to run for public office?” I seem to remember that the Supreme Court has ruled that, if you are a public figure, you can not sue for slander; regardless of the lack of truth in the allegation. Politicians must be included in the list of public figures.

There is a good side to this; a silver lining, as it were. If you are a public figure you can say that, beings the Supremes[1] have ruled, thusly, you can’t believe anything derogatory that has been said about you. Of course the failed candidacy of Michael Dukakis is an example of how injurious the attitude that I won’t stoop to answer such a ridiculous allegation. What was the name attached to the accusation that Dukakis was soft on crime; with disastrous effect? You know; the revolving door into/out of prisons. It gave his enemies lots of ammunition; that gained credibility, as the election season progressed.

Now, a real problem with the ruling: what constitutes a public figure? If you are included in more than one article in a newspaper or electronic news source, are you a public figure?

A certain, very attractive, young lady who worked for Senator Patty Murray’s re-election effort was; what might be regarded as, beyond the special definition of flirting[2]. Almost every time I went into the Kitsap Democratic Election headquarters, she would show me special attention. What a buzz I get when a young woman shows me attention! After about so many times, I was prompted to tell her about my understanding of the word flirting. Her response was, “Oh, I know. I’m such a flirt.” So, my suspicions were correct. At least it provided her with plausible deniability[3].

Finally, I wrote her a note that that asked the questions, “Do you perceive I have political ambitions; and are you inoculating me against young women who might show me too much attention?” (One time I fell to the temptation of whispering into her ear, in the midst of a long embrace, “This reminds me of Monika Lewinsky.” Her response really surprised me and it took a little while for it to sink in. “I know. I used to work for her.” Why do I doubt the veracity of that pronouncement? I didn’t get a chance to ask her under what auspices did she do work for Monika Lewinsky? Or, in the heat of the moment, was she confusing somebody else she worked for; for Monika Lewinsky?) I told her that I had no political future. Surprise! She never offered me another embrace when I went into the headquarters. Did that mean she was showing me attention because she perceived I had a political future? Or, did it embarrass her for me to make the observations I included into the note.

She did start to show this other (young) man a lot of attention…in a manner that seemed to be for my observation. This same young man seemed to me to be somewhat of a dork. When I first met him he seemed to think forced belches were funny. That kind of sophomoric humor just escapes me.

To this day I don’t really know what the young lady’s agenda was for flirting with me.

It was said, in an extensive front page article in The Kitsap Sun that Bremerton’s present mayor can’t seem to stand for a lot of negative criticism. I would offer him the advice that, if he can’t stand the heat, get out of the kitchen[4] If this was some ploy to deflect criticism, then any potential opponents to his re-election bid should ignore them and mount the challenge.

The opposite of paranoia is delusions of grandeur. When I have these flashes (of delusions of grandeur) I can see myself running for mayor. What a joke that is. I laugh uncontrollably.

 


 

[1] My apologies to Molly Ivan’s coining of the term. It does not refer to the Motown singing group.

[2] I saw this definition on the marquee of the lumber company on Wheaton Way, in Bremerton, WA:  Flirting is attention without attention. I’ve said it many times; it’s kept me out of trouble a lot of times. I’ve also disregarded it (mostly before I saw the quotation) to my misfortune.

[3] Now, there’s a good political phrase. It can also work in a courtroom…

[4] You might recognize that as a quotation from former President, Harry S. Truman. He demonstrated his devotion to the concept by refusing to run for re-election. Yes, he got a lot of criticism as President. They were mostly partisan jabs from Republicans. His detractors in the press were typified by David Brinkley. He made the commentary, after Truman died, that he was wrong to slam Truman when he threatened to punch the critic in the nose who dared to make negative comments about Truman’s daughter’s singing. Brinkley said that he would probably have felt the same way. “Poor Jud is Dead.”

Leave a Reply

