Park Your Car Ride the Bus

Posted: May 7, 2007 in Travel
… And Leave the Driving to Us

 

With no apologies to Greyhound Bus Lines (they owe me after the 3-hour-late bus on February 19, 2007 from Seattle to Olympia) I want to use this cute little slogan to promote public transportation. I won’t ask their permission. In the words of President Bush 41, “I’m just not going to do it.”

I have found that riding the bus yields all kinds of great companionship. Whether I engage apparently receptive co-riders in a conversation, sit – or stand – and listen to another conversation, or just sit – or stand – and listen to my mind engage me in a conversation, the old saw half the fun of getting there is the journey is absolutely true!

One of the most delightful people I have ever enjoyed the company of is an elderly British lady with a charming British accent that makes you pray that she never meets Professor Higgins. Elisa Doolittle, eat your heart out! She loves poetry and I heard her recite one of her own compositions that I wish she would deign to make a copy and give to me. I would treasure it.

Another young man (he’s probably in his late 30’s, but that’s definitely young to me) wears dark glasses almost all the time and for the longest time just sat there looking out through those intimidating shades and said nothing. Then, one day, he raised his glasses and began to speak. He even smiled. So, he wasn’t the recluse I had him made out to be. Since then I found him to be quite a pleasant fellow to talk with.

Many people have issues; but that doesn’t make them any less enjoyable to ride the bus with. If you just open up your horizons of your mind you can believe that these people are a joy to engage, or not, in a conversation.

All the usual arguments for riding the bus are extant. Our busses in Kitsap county are mostly clean and efficient in their consumption of fuel so that makes them an extra bonus if you are at all interested in saving your planet from impending doom. Of course you have to accept the idea that every little bit helps when considering thrift in money economics or any other material consumption.

Here is one final argument: I just heard the song “You’ll Never Walk Alone” from Carousel. If there was ever a theme for public transportation that’s it.

Leave a Reply

