More About Guns Germs and Steel

Posted: November 7, 2007 in Uncategorized

One of the most important books I’ve ever read, that was to be found in a book store in Seattle in the archeology section, is "Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies" by Jared Diamond. It was awarded a Pulitzer and is on the Stanford University’s freshman reading list (along with "The Tao of Pooh"). The term for imported goods that has gained international use is "cargo". I was looking through the stacks in Barnes and Nobles the other day and I noticed that the latest edition (in hardback) has still more material. The latest chapter is about Japan. There was a TV series about it and I am sorry to say I only caught a part of one of the last installments. Even though I only have the first edition (in paperback) and Chris has a later one, I will prioritize getting the latest. Unfortunately the Kitsap Regional Library’s only copy is the 1997 edition. The citations for later copies are “sound recording” and “DVD”. I expect the latter to be the TV series. I just put my name in the queue to get it when it is available. I am number 15 in the queue. That’s not too bad; I was number 97 when I placed a hold on Barak Obama’s book, “The Audacity of Hope”, and it was only a few months by the time I was able to check it out. The link to the web-site for “Guns, Germs, and Steel” is:

http://www.pbs.org/gunsgermssteel/. This is exciting for me. I can continue studying his perspective on this valuable subject.

Leave a Reply

