More Pillorying Hillary

Posted: December 20, 2007 in Uncategorized

I won’t review my first piece about those who would pillory Hillary. I will just write my thoughts that come to me as I read another column about criticisms of her.

I really don’t think it’s about having “skin as tough as a rhinoceros”; because the column I am reading adds another metaphor about keeping the skin so it still breaths. If one develops the attitude that those who speak negatively about you usually are seeing themselves in a mirror inasmuch as the criticisms are not fair. If they are fair you can take them for what they are: substantial and worth working on or surface and not worthy of your attention. You really don’t want to become like the man making a journey to market with his donkey loaded with wares and his son. For each criticism the man made adjustments until he was walking, carrying the donkey, the wares, and his son on his back. How foolish is that?

I have had a measure of success in developing a barrier against unfair criticism by “considering the source” as my grandmother would say. Thinking about my grandmother reminds me of my aunt’s attitude that, as long as people are talking about me they aren’t talking about somebody else. She also disregarded those who would denigrate her.

Leave a Reply

