In a Rut

Posted: March 11, 2010 in Personal Relationships

It’s been a long time since I heard that phrase, my dear cousin. My mom used to accuse my grandmother of being in a rut when my grandmother tried to instill some sense of order in my mom’s life. At least that’s what I think was going on there.

So, you think you are in a rut. Aren’t you glad your life is so orderly that you feel that way? Consider my life; which is so disorganized that I have never even felt like I was in a position to purchase a home. Yep; I’ve been a renter all my life and now it is way too late to even consider purchasing a home. And with the home prices the way they are – I don’t think they’ll ever come down to the level I can ever afford – I’ll never be able to be in a position to buy.

It’s just one element in my life that exposes a muddled and crazy lifestyle. Don’t for one minute think I am jealous of your orderliness that causes you to think you are in a rut. I am joyful for every day I am involved in my grandsons’ life. I have managed to make myself available to the point that I am constantly being tasked to lend a hand in doing what is necessary to at least help in their upbringing.

If you are in a rut do you think it’s your own choice? Are you so insecure that you wouldn’t think of any other way of living? Who was it who said that if we give up our freedom for security we deserve neither? Ok It’s a political statement; but it is an apt statement for the human condition.

Excuse me while I go eat my breakfast that seldom varies from three choices…

Leave a Reply

