All right you sons to bitches

Posted: April 4, 2010 in Business and the Economy

To all employers,

 

Alright you sons to bitches, if I can lay off my employee and arrange for a smooth transition to another job for him you should be able to as well. It just takes a little creativity.

 

I agonized over the financial circumstances that drove me to the edge and resulted in this extreme measure for days. When I made the connections (connected the dots) the answer was apparent. I consulted with the prospective employer, who I knew needed a helper with the skills I knew my employee had, and he was good to hire him. Then, and only then, did I break the news to my employee. I avoided giving my employee advance warning of the impending action I was forced to make to avoid stress and make for an uncomfortable situation on the final days of his employment by me.

 

 The transfer was in a matter of minutes and, after asking my former employee how the first day went (because I care) I have come to the conclusion that my actions bore fruit. My financial picture was improved, my former employee is now making more money than I could pay him, and his new employer has a valuable employee. The potential for improvement for the new employer is great considering the skills my former employee has exhibited over the years he has worked for me. Granted my working conditions will have degraded but that’s the cost of making the hard choices.

 

This must be the way the Japanese were said to have operated for many years; which resulted in a measure of job security for most workers. There must have been built a solid network of employers that enabled this arrangement.

 

So, why wouldn’t you take the time and effort to make this kind of arrangement? Perhaps you don’t care. I can’t believe you simply don’t have the time… make the time! Isn’t that what you tell your employees when they say they don’t have time to perform tasks you want to assign them?

Leave a Reply

