I Dreamed I Sang

Posted: April 24, 2010 in Humor

I was in a crowd that started to sing “The Star Spangled Banner”. We sang to the end of the phrase “…Gave proof through the night that our flag was still there.” Then everybody quit singing. After a long pause I felt they were waiting for me to finish. So I began, in a rich baritone voice, “O say, does that star-spangled banner yet wave…” Then I forgot the rest. After another long pause I still couldn’t remember the rest of the lyrics. But people were starting to look at me. I was expected to sing to the end. So I made up the lyrics, “from high on high, and for ever more.” Afterwards somebody commented “Nice extemporary finish.”

Leave a Reply

