Running for County Council

Posted: January 27, 2011 in News and politics

This is for Rob Gelder. Rob, I hope you know what you are doing, running for county commissioner. I watched about 5 minutes of county council proceedings and decided that those guys have a really challenging position. I maybe project my own self into that roll…

One of Josh Brown’s criticisms of Abbey Girlygame (an intentional misspelling, b. t. w.) in the only debate I witnessed between them was she didn’t attend any county council meetings… at least I think it was his comment about her. I know I saw one of the candidates mention it about his opponent. I think it’s a very relevant observation. I have attended a few Bremerton City council meetings and found them quite interesting. But not interesting enough to run for office. Why not? Let me count the reasons… 1 to 10…

Which brings me to the real reason I am writing this: to answer the question “have you considered running for county council?” Yes, I gave it a brief consideration; imagining my candidacy. I also imagined the experience of having my head cut off. I understand that experts expect that people who are beheaded actually remain conscious for about 30 seconds after their heads leave their bodies. I think about this when I am lying in bed going to sleep. I follow sleep experts’ advice to focus on breathing; but I go further by remaining perfectly motionless. As all feeling from various parts of my body cease, I think that this might be how it feels to be without a body after your head is chopped off. My thoughts begin to degrade much as HAL’s , the computer in “2001 a Space Odyssey” did. It’s really kind of cool. If I could recall my thoughts I could turn them into a really cool reminiscence… It would be almost poetic.

So I would just as soon have my head cut off as to run for a political office as high as county council. Don’t get me wrong; I wouldn’t for the life of me try to discourage you. If you are influenced by such a political neophyte you are definitely going the wrong way.

Leave a Reply

