Another Example of Intellectual Laziness

Posted: May 13, 2011 in Education, Politics
Tags: , ,

Yesterday there was a column printed in the Kitsap Sun by Thomas Sowell. The heading was “`Higher education’ mantra is hollow”. My first reaction was to blow it off as just one more crack-pot idea from a conservative pundit who I usually disagree with – sometimes finding his thought processes rather meager. But I took a metaphorical deep breath and decided to take the time to read Sweet Old Tom’s (SOT?) thoughts on the Higher education mantra. After reading it I realized that my first inclination was a real good example of intellectual laziness, which I think we all fall prey to sometimes when we get caught up in the day-to-day hustle and bustle.
The first paragraph:

One of the sad and dangerous signs of our times is how many people are enthralled by words, without bothering to look behind those words.

Hot damn! This is a real grabber for me. I guess I’ll just have to give this a serious read. Without getting into the rest of the column’s credibility I will just conclude that I am really glad that I took the time to overcome a weakness that can keep me from enriching my thought processes by reading, and in this case, re-reading for intellectual refreshment.

Leave a Reply

