Take My Wife…

Posted: November 30, 2011 in Humor, News and politics, Personal Growth, Personal Relationships, Politics
Tags: , ,

… Please

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I am all wrapped up in thought about politics as I read today’s edition of The Kitsap Sun. My thoughts turn to a truly momentous occasion that happened earlier this morning; as my wife read a letter to the editor published on the opinion page. A couple of years ago I doubt if she would have even stopped to read anything on the opinion page because she was just put off by politics. But, I believe she was dragged, kicking and screaming, into the political fray by her sister who engages her in an argument about politics every time they talk on the phone.

Now, I have to include some observations about my wife’s sister, who I have had lustful thoughts about over the years after we moved to places some 1000+ miles apart. If I had had these thoughts when we lived near each other our lives might have been different. But, politically, I think my sister-in-law is a putz (look that up in your Funk and Wagnalls). She is a proud ditto-head and her thinking is influenced by Rush Limbaugh. But, as is always the case “…when one discusses issues with someone with a different perspective, we grow”. And my wife has certainly grown in her approach to politics… big time! The last time I overheard her respond to something her sister said over the phone she asked “And which of those (Republican candidates for President) losers are you for?” Her sister responded, according to my wife, with “Never mind, you’ve already made up your mind.”

Even though my sister-in-law is usually drunk (to be fair she is probably still trying to get over her husband and son dying close to the same time) that response was articulate to the point of exposing her reticence to divulge her choice; if she has one. Even though, when my wife lets lose on a subject we entirely agree with, she recites ideas I’ve held for quite some time. I don’t try to either refute or agree with her… too much. I either grunt in agreement or I might say something short like “that’s for sure.” Actually I don’t remember saying those exact words; so I probably should the next time she utters a relatively profound politicism.

Now if I could just get her to read an entire column…

Leave a Reply

