Sometimes I am Happy

Posted: August 19, 2012 in Personal Growth
Tags:

Sometimes this 71 year old feels I am descending into a world of clichés; no substance or deep meanings. But I had the good fortune to purchase a copy of The Last Days of Socrates by Plato at a yard sale. The introduction is written by Hugh Trennedick. It serves to enlighten me about the subjects I barely scratched the surface of in my meager understanding of philosophy and what it is about as an undergraduate in college.
What joy I get from reading this! It approaches that which I experience when I read S. I. Hayakawa’s Language in Thought and Action. I quit reading that wonderful book as I rose to the heights of feeling. I think I felt I was approaching God and had to back off.

Leave a Reply

