Winning Through Inference

Posted: September 15, 2012 in Politics
Tags: ,

This morning I was broadsided by an observation followed by a question. The observation was, “I see you have an Obama yard sign up in your yard.” The question was, “So, how do you feel about paying $4 a gallon for gas?”

This individual used a strategy I first saw George W. Bush use in making the subliminal message that there was a connection between 9/11 and Saddam Hussein. He would commemorate 9/11 and follow by mentioning Saddam Hussein. Now, “Dubya” has admitted there is no connection between 9/11 and Saddam Hussein; so, by making the implied connection he perpetrates a false-hood that is believed by many Americans.

If my antagonist had succeeded he would have planted the connection between Obama and the price of gasoline in my mind. I didn’t believe it for a minute; and could only reply that I wasn’t paying $4 a gallon for gasoline. I wanted to avoid a stupid argument; but I should have asked the very salient question, “Just what is the connection between Obama and the price of gasoline?” I believe the man would have been forced to admit no connection if he were to be truthful.

Leave a Reply

